Four Pillars Of Goodness

Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 9.06.52 am

So, what constitutes the mode of goodness, which allows one to be in harmony with one’s mind and body as well as other living beings and the world in general? The Vedas say that the mode of goodness has four pillars:

Compassion, Purity, Control of the senses and Truthfulness.

The practical embodiment of mercy is a commandment “thou shalt not kill”, but nowadays for some reason it only applies to humans not the animals, although Jesus said that we should have love for our younger brothers.


This principle of mercy is used quite selectively. For example, we love cats and dogs, calling them our friends, but ruthlessly slaughter cows. Such a strange selective mercy!

Actually the real mercy begins with what we eat. Therefore, adopting a vegetarian diet is one of the first steps on the path to genuine mercy and development of goodness.

The second pillar of goodness is the principle of cleanliness. As the proverb goes: “cleanliness is next to divinity.” There are two kinds of cleanliness, external and internal.

External cleanliness is a daily hygiene. The Vedas recommend a person to get up before sunrise and take a shower. Inner purity is achieved by rejection of all kinds of intoxicants: alcohol, tobacco and drugs.


People who use these poisons inevitably develop unclean habits. Also, these harmful substances weaken the willpower of a person, making one easily agitated and prone to negative influences.

The third pillar of goodness is sense control, asceticism or restricted sex life.

Kissing Couple

According to the Vedas, sexual relations are permissible only in marriage. One should refrain from sexual activity before marriage. For the modern man, brought up on the philosophy of Sigmund Freud and frivolous morals of so-called free society, this rule may seem to be “an attack on the sacred”.


According to the teachings of Freud, humans are deeply sexual and if we do not implement this energy through carnal love, this energy will at best be sublimated into creativity or spirituality, and in the worst case, this energy will become a source of unconscious aggression and anger. In this way, sexuality becomes the primary activity, and spirituality and creativity are considered as secondary areas, which are directed by the transformed sexuality.

But the Vedas give us a completely opposite picture – humans by nature are deeply spiritual and if we do not implement our spiritual potential, this energy of love of God will transform into mundane lust. Kundalini or the vital corporeal energy moves from the higher to the lower chakras and the person simply turns into an animal (not literally but in terms of his desires and aspirations and habits ).

However it’s a fact that even animals use the sexual instinct solely for procreation in particular seasons. Therefore, a person with the help of a higher consciousness is able to overcome this animal instinct by cultivating the highest culture and the spiritual taste.


The yoga practice is recommended in this regard to purify the energy of divine love in our heart, from carnal lust. But the transformation of lust into love is not such an easy task and in fact is a lifelong business.Nevertheless, it is a primary task of a human being.

The fourth pillar of goodness is the principle of truthfulness. Truthfulness is destroyed by deliberate lies and gambling. There are so many unintentional lies in the education system when scientists and teachers quite frankly falsify the history of mankind by teaching the children a completely unscientific and naive Darwinian theory of the origin of man from apes.

Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 9.20.51 am

To be truthful means to accept the truth from a higher source, or God and live in accordance with the principles of eternal love and harmony.

So, the four pillars of goodness are the basis of human morality. It is assumed that truly spiritual people, as a minimum, follow these principles.

Comments are closed.